MISMATCH

When a heavy piece of agricultural machinery consisting of multiple steel rollers designed to compact newly seeded fields, meets lightweight car body panels – there can only be one outcome. So when my car, a tractor with a rear-mounted cultipacker, and a parked ambulance tried to ‘use’ the same space on a two lane wide street, my car came of worst! Had the implement not been attached and protruding beyond the tractor’s width, I would have got by, but at the last moment I noticed the extra width and just couldn’t swerve onto the pavement in time – the noise of the offside rear of my car being ripped off by the rigid and unyielding piece of equipment only lasted a fraction of a second but the mangled panels of my car will take much, much longer to repair. It is actually like a giant has taken a bite out of the back corner of my car. I can foresee a long wait whilst replacement panels take the ‘slow boat from near China’ as they make their way from Korea – on the other hand I might be in for a pleasant surprise, time will tell! On the other side of the street, the ambulance driver only had to fold back out his driver’s door wing mirror and ponder the slight grazing on his front plastic bumper; whilst the tractor driver simply wonders if there might be any additional little scratches on the side of his cultipacker.
On the plus side, nobody was injured – and I couldn’t have ‘chosen’ a better place to have an ‘accident’ – due to another incident in the locality, there were three police vehicles, five police officers, one ambulance and two paramedics on the scene when the impact occurred – yet when I recounted this to the insurance company, I was asked if I had managed to get some ‘independent’ witnesses! There were, of course, some, as I do remember groups of people gathered on the pavements looking to see if they could see what was happening with regard to the police and paramedic presence. This reminded me of a part of my drive to London last week – our carriageway of the A1(M) was delayed by having to merge two lanes into one to pass a collision that had been ‘moved’ to the hard shoulder; the traffic on the opposite carriageway had also backed up ahead of the incident, presumably due to drivers slowing down to ‘rubberneck’.

Leave a Reply

